Ston Fortress

The walls of Ston were built in 1333 when Ston became a part of the Republic of Dubrovnik. Their purpose was to defend the Republic and the peninsula. The walls had 40 towers and 7 fortification buildings, and due to their monumental nature and thickness, they are called “the Great Wall of Europe”. They consist of walls of Ston and Mali Ston, the Great Wall, the three fortresses, ten circular, thirty-one square towers and a square and six semi-circular bastions. From the top of the walls, you get a great view of the other important draw to this region: the oysters farms.  They can be visited all year round. The walk from Ston to Mali Ston (“Little Ston”) takes some 45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *